@appassionato@mastodon.social
@appassionato@mastodon.social avatar

appassionato

@appassionato@mastodon.social

‘Three passions, simple but overwhelmingly strong, have governed my life: the longing for love, the search for knowledge, and unbearable pity for the suffering of mankind,’ - Bertrand Russell

This profile is from a federated server and may be incomplete. Browse more on the original instance.

appassionato, to books
@appassionato@mastodon.social avatar

Making Great Relationships by Rick Hanson

Simple Practices for Solving Conflicts, Building Connection, and Fostering Love

Relationships are usually the most important part of a person’s life. But they’re often stressful and frustrating, or simply awkward, distant, and lonely. We feel the weight of things unsaid, needs unmet, conflicts unresolved. It’s easy to feel stuck.

@bookstodon



appassionato, to books
@appassionato@mastodon.social avatar

Love and Marriage in the Age of Jane Austen by Rory Muir

Rory Muir uncovers the excitements and disappointments of courtship and the pains and pleasures of marriage, drawing on fascinating first-hand accounts as well as novels of the period.

@bookstodon








appassionato, to books
@appassionato@mastodon.social avatar

Look Again: The Power of Noticing What Was Always There by Tali Sharot & Cass R. Sunstein

For fans of Thinking Fast and Slow and The Power of Habit, a groundbreaking new study of how disrupting our well-worn routines, both good and bad, can rejuvenate our days and reset our brains to allow us to live happier and more fulfilling lives.

@bookstodon



appassionato, to books
@appassionato@mastodon.social avatar

Kuni A Japanese Vision and Practice for Urban-Rural Reconnection by Tsuyoshi Sekihara & Richard McCarthy

A guide to reviving and revitalizing forgotten places and communities through the Japanese principles of kuni
Kuni offers a unique model for the revitalization of rural and deindustrialized lands and communities—and shares lessons in citizen-led regeneration for all of us, regardless of where we live.

@bookstodon






appassionato, to DadBin
@appassionato@mastodon.social avatar

A woman who spent 11 years trying to conceive is mourning her twins, born just four months ago, who were killed in Rafah along with her husband.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mmn1LSc5dtg

@palestine




appassionato, to DadBin
@appassionato@mastodon.social avatar

Gaza City in ruins after months of Israeli assaults

@palestine


appassionato, to DadBin
@appassionato@mastodon.social avatar

A Palestinian child walks amid the rubble of a house destroyed by Israeli bombardment in Gaza City on March 3, 2024 [AFP]

@palestine
#Gaza
#displaced
#children

appassionato, to DadBin
@appassionato@mastodon.social avatar

“The sense of helplessness and despair among parents and doctors in realising that lifesaving aid, just a few kilometres away, is being kept out of reach, must be as unbearable, but worse still are the anguished cries of those babies slowly perishing under the world’s gaze. The lives of thousands more babies and children depend on urgent action being taken now.”

https://twitter.com/UNICEFmena/status/1764233655013036040

@palestine
#Gaza
#children
#UNICEF

appassionato, to books
@appassionato@mastodon.social avatar

Live Long, Die Short: A Guide to Authentic Health and Successful Aging by Roger Landry

Over a decade ago, a landmark ten-year study by the MacArthur Foundation shattered the stereotypes of aging as a process of slow, genetically determined decline. Researchers found that that 70 percent of physical aging, and about 50 percent of mental aging, is determined by lifestyle, the choices we make every day.

@bookstodon



appassionato, to books
@appassionato@mastodon.social avatar

Limits of the Known by David Roberts

A celebrated mountaineer and author searches for meaning in great adventures and explorations, past and present.

@bookstodon
#books
#nonfiction
#adventure
#exploration
#risk
#memoir

appassionato, to books
@appassionato@mastodon.social avatar

Limitarianism The Case Against Extreme Wealth by Ingrid Robeyns

"A powerful case for limitarianism—the idea that we should set a maximum on how much resources one individual can appropriate. A must-read!"
—Thomas Piketty, bestselling author of Capital in the Twenty-First Century
An original, bold, and convincing argument for a cap on wealth by the philosopher who coined the term "limitarianism."

@bookstodon
#books
#nonfiction
#limitarianism
#wealth

appassionato, to books
@appassionato@mastodon.social avatar

Lies My Teacher Told Me: Young Readers’ Edition: Everything American History Textbooks Get Wrong by James W. Loewen

Beginning with pre-Columbian history and then covering characters and events as diverse as the first Thanksgiving, Helen Keller, the My Lai massacre, 9/11, and the Iraq War, Loewen's lively, provocative telling of American history is a "counter-textbook that retells the story of the American past" (The Nation).

@bookstodon


appassionato, to books
@appassionato@mastodon.social avatar

Languishing: How to Feel Alive Again in a World That Wears Us Down by Corey Keyes

If you’re muddling through the day in a fog, often forgetting why you walked into a room . . .
If you feel emotionally flattened, lacking the energy to socialize or feel joy in the small things . . .
If you feel an inner void—like something is missing, but you aren’t sure what . . .
Then this book is for you.

@bookstodon
#books
#nonfiction
#languishing
#MentalHealth
#SelfHelp

appassionato, to books
@appassionato@mastodon.social avatar

Fluke: Chance, Chaos, and Why Everything We Do Matters by Brian Klaas

A provocative challenge to how we think our world works—and why small, chance events can divert our lives and change everything, by social scientist and Atlantic writer Brian Klaas.

@bookstodon
#books
#nonfiction
#chance
#chaos

appassionato, to Israel
@appassionato@mastodon.social avatar

“Israel’s terms are basically the complete destruction of Gaza. They’ve made that clear, both in word and in action: they want to destroy as much of Gaza as possible, make conditions unliveable, and ultimately drive the Palestinians out of Gaza.”

Mohamad Elmasry, an analyst and a professor at the Doha Institute for Graduate Studies

A Palestinian woman reacts at the site of an Israeli airstrike in Rafah on Sunday [Mohammed Salem/Reuters]

@palestine
#Gaza
#Rafah
#Israel
#women

appassionato, to books
@appassionato@mastodon.social avatar

The Emergence of Mind: Where Technology Ends and We Begin by Jeffrey Kane demonstrates the profound and fundamental limitations of the technology and its use as a model of human thinking. In response, the book offers an emergent model of the human mind rooted in our experiences as living, sentient, social and conscious beings.

@bookstodon





appassionato, to palestine
@appassionato@mastodon.social avatar

On Hypocrisy and Genocide – How Gaza Has Exposed the West Like Never Before

"The Israeli genocide in Gaza will be remembered as the moral collapse of the West." Ramzy Baroud

https://www.palestinechronicle.com/on-hypocrisy-and-genocide-how-gaza-has-exposed-the-west-like-never-before/

Israel continues to commit massacres against civilians in Gaza. (Image: Palestine Chronicle)

@palestine


appassionato, to religion
@appassionato@mastodon.social avatar

Honest Doubt: The History of an Epic Struggle by Richard Holloway

In "Honest Doubt", Richard Holloway considers some of the universal questions about our existence and the meaning of life, and how some of humanity's best thinkers and most creative writers have approached these 'literally life and death questions'.

@bookstodon



appassionato, to books
@appassionato@mastodon.social avatar

Civilisations: The Cult of Progress
by David Olusoga

There is nothing simple about the idea of civilisation. It is a concept with multiple and contested meanings. Prefix it with the word ‘western’ and you have a whole new set of problems. Equally thorny is the belief, once commonplace, that civilisation was a singular project, a phenomenon that spread across parts of the world from a single source.

@bookstodon
#books
#nonfiction
#history
#civilisation

appassionato, to thailand
@appassionato@mastodon.social avatar

Swimming hole by Stan Smucker

https://www.flickr.com/photos/20791242@N04/52534029745/in/photostream/

Klong Chao Waterfall (Ko Kut, Thailand).

@photography
#Thailand
#waterfalls

appassionato, to thailand
@appassionato@mastodon.social avatar
appassionato, to thailand
@appassionato@mastodon.social avatar
appassionato, to photography
@appassionato@mastodon.social avatar
appassionato, to HikingPics
@appassionato@mastodon.social avatar
appassionato, to photography
@appassionato@mastodon.social avatar
  • All
  • Subscribed
  • Moderated
  • Favorites
  • bokunoheroacademia
  • cisconetworking
  • magazineikmin
  • everett
  • Youngstown
  • khanakhh
  • Durango
  • slotface
  • InstantRegret
  • thenastyranch
  • kavyap
  • GTA5RPClips
  • DreamBathrooms
  • osvaldo12
  • sketchdaily
  • rosin
  • cubers
  • normalnudes
  • Leos
  • ethstaker
  • mdbf
  • lostlight
  • modclub
  • tester
  • relationshipadvice
  • tacticalgear
  • HellsKitchen
  • littleknowngames
  • All magazines